Hands Off The Bump! Warning! Warning! Personal Space Invasion!

I like to think I’m a very tactile person. I’m affectionate and I cuddle. I say hello with a cuddle. I say I love you with a cuddle. I say goodbye with a cuddle. I cuddle Dadda, my mum, my grandma, my sisters and brother, my best girls and boys and, especially my baby whenever I’m with them. These are the people I love most in the whole wide world.

Last night whilst in the supermarket a total stranger rubbed my belly… Now don’t get me wrong I don’t have a problem with people wanting to touch the little miracle I have growing away inside me, I just don’t think you should do it to a stranger… WITHOUT ASKING. Any of my dearly beloved could at any time have a little rub of my rounded stomach and I wouldn’t bat an eyelid. And even if I didn’t have a tactile relationship with someone wouldn’t mean that if they asked to touch the bump I would object.

It was the fact that this lady reached between me and the trolley, without saying a word to me. My personal space felt totally invaded, and I had no idea how to react. Granted its pretty easy to tell now, that I’m not just a bit tubby but what if I wasn’t actually pregnant? I wonder if I’d have been there with Dadda she would have rubbed his crotch too.

When you’re pregnant or in labour or on delivery, it’s like your body is no longer your own. Suddenly every Tom, Dick and Harry wants a piece of you. You don’t just have a constant stream of doctors & midwives wanting to touch you but totally random strangers too.

Next time I might rub their stomach back at them like its some new greeting craze!

20130814-044657.jpg

One thought on “Hands Off The Bump! Warning! Warning! Personal Space Invasion!

Leave a Reply

